Third umpire gets involved in latest Australian Mankad row

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Australian spin bowler Adam Zampa’s appeal for a Mankad was denied because he was ruled to have completed his action without letting go of the ball.

In the latest Mankad controversy, Tom Rogers, the non-striking batsman for Melbourne Renegades, was well out of his crease when Zampa removed the bails and appealed for a run-out. But, as the Melbourne Stars celebrated the wicket, the third umpire deemed that Zampa was past the point when he would normally release the ball, ruling the batsman not out. 

Zampa, who has played 76 ODIs and 72 Twenty20 internationals for Australia, was roundly booed by supporters at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Zampa claimed that he would have withdrawn the appeal in any case during the Big Bash clash. “If it had been given out, we would have withdrawn our appeal anyway,” he said.

The leg-spinner’s arm was ruled to have “gone past the vertical” – too far into his bowling action – meaning it was declared not out (watch video below).

Law 41.16.1 of the MCC code states that: “If the non-striker is out of his/her ground at any time from the moment the ball comes into play until the instant when the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, the non-striker is liable to be Run out.

“In these circumstances, the non-striker will be out Run out if he/she is out of his/her ground when his/her wicket is put down by the bowler throwing the ball at the stumps or by the bowler’s hand holding the ball, whether or not the ball is subsequently delivered.”

In October last year, the International Cricket Council ruled that a Mankad dismissal would no longer be classified under ‘Unfair Play’ but simply another method of ‘Run Out’.

While the Mankad dismissal is named after Vinod Mankad, whose dismissal of Bill Brown in 1948 is thought to be the first known instance of a non-striker being run-out in a Test match before the ball was bowled, the first known such dismissal in any first-class match occurred in 1835.

Source: telegraph.co.uk