Bulgaria and Romania partially be a part of the Schengen space | EUROtoday

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Lhe 27 Member States of the European Union have unanimously reached an settlement for the partial integration of Bulgaria and Romania into the Schengen space. Their integration will happen from March 31, they introduced on the evening of Saturday December 30 to Sunday December 31. Controls on the air and sea borders, inner to the EU, of those two international locations will subsequently be lifted.

The date of March 31 was not chosen at random: it corresponds to the transition from winter schedules to these deliberate for summer season by the International Air Transport Association (Iata), in keeping with this textual content.

The 27 should nonetheless agree to decide on the date for lifting border controls, added the press launch from the Council of the EU, the establishment which represents the member states.

READ ALSO The Schengen space defined in 1 minuteThe European Commission, for its half, welcomed this resolution, which comes after a minimum of twelve years of negotiations. “Today marks a historic moment for Bulgaria and Romania, and a day of great pride for Bulgarian and Romanian citizens,” welcomed the President of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, in a press launch, specifying that the Commission thought of that these two international locations had been prepared to affix the Schengen space since 2011.

Fight towards elevated immigration

Vienna had vetoed it final 12 months to protest towards too many unlawful immigrants arriving on its territory, earlier than agreeing to elevate it in change for ensures. Sofia and Bucharest agreed to combat extra towards unlawful immigration in a joint declaration signed on Saturday with Vienna.

Bulgaria and Romania are additionally dedicated to completely making use of European regulation, which gives that asylum requests be processed within the migrant’s nation of arrival.

Romania and Bulgaria, members of the EU since 2007, had been rejected by Austria on the finish of 2022 from the Schengen space inside which greater than 400 million individuals can journey freely with out inner border controls.

Created in 1985, the Schengen space contains 23 of the 27 EU member international locations, in addition to their related neighbors Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.