When is it, route, data and methods to watch | EUROtoday

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The London Marathon, a fixture of the spring sporting calendar returns this 12 months after a record-breaking variety of entrants within the 2023 version.

The race would be the first London Marathon held for the reason that demise of Kelvin Kiptum, final 12 months’s males’s winner and world file holder, in a automobile crash in Kenya.

When is the 2024 London Marathon?

This 12 months’s race is on Sunday, April 21.

What time do the races begin?

Exact timings are but to be confirmed however in earlier years the elite and wheelchair races set off at staggered occasions from 8.30am and the mass participation occasion began at 9.30am.

The London Marathon route: the place does it begin and end?

The London Marathon route follows its normal course, beginning in Greenwich and Blackheath the place entrants are break up into three traces which converge on the three-mile mark. The route heads east into Woolwich, then again west in direction of Greenwich city centre, by means of Rotherhithe and Bermondsey. From there it crosses north over Tower Bridge, which indicators the approximate midway mark. Athletes then full a circuit round Canary Wharf and the Isle of Dogs earlier than the course runs west alongside the north financial institution of the Thames previous the Tower of London in direction of Trafalgar Square and onto the Mall the place it finishes in entrance of Buckingham Palace.

To obtain a map of the course, click on right here.

Some of London’s most well-known landmarks function on the course.

  • Cutty Stark, mile 6
  • Tower Bridge, mile 12
  • Tower of London, mile 22
  • London Eye, mile 25
  • Big Ben, mile 25
  • Buckingham Palace, mile 26

How many individuals run the London Marathon?

Last 12 months 49,272 runners began the race with 43,965 ending it (that’s 5,307 individuals who didn’t full the course).

London Marathon prize cash

This 12 months for the primary time equal prize cash can be provided for the wheelchair and able-bodied races. The winner of every elite race will take dwelling £43,500.

London Marathon occasion director Hugh Brasher mentioned: “We have made great strides in recent years towards our ambition to make the London Marathon the most diverse and equitable marathon in the world and this is another important step towards achieving that goal.”

What TV channel is the London Marathon on?

The London Marathon can be proven on BBC in addition to BBC iPlayer and the Red Button. This 12 months’s broadcast schedule has not but been confirmed however in 2023 the principle broadcast began on BBC One at 8.30am, then moved to BBC Two at 2.15pm and solely to the iPlayer and on-line at 3pm. Highlights have been proven on BBC Two at 6pm.

The manufacturing entails about 200 individuals, 40 cameras and half a dozen motorbikes. Multiple helicopters are used to assist broadcast the elite races. Recently commentators have included Steve Cram, Paula Radcliffe and Tanni Grey-Thompson.

Who is within the women and men’s elite races?

Tigist Assefa (ETH) 2:11:53
Brigid Kosgei (KEN) 2:14:04
Ruth Chepngetich (KEN) 2:14:18
Tigist Ketema (ETH) 2:16:07
Almaz Ayana (ETH) 2:16:22
Megertu Alemu (ETH) 2:17:09
Peres Jepchirchir (KEN) 2:17:1
Joyciline Jepkosgei (KEN) 2:17:23
Yalemzerf Yehualaw (ETH) 2:17:23
Sheila Chepkirui (KEN) 2:17:29
Tsige Haileslase (ETH) 2:22:10
Susanna Sullivan (USA) 2:24:27
Manon Trapp (FRA) 2:25:48
Becky Briggs (GBR) 2:29:04
Alice Wright (GBR) 2:29:08

Kenenisa Bekele (ETH) 2:01:41
Mosinet Geremew (ETH) 2:02:55
Alexander Mutiso Munyao (KEN) 2:03:11
Tamirat Tola (ETH) 2:03:39
Dawit Wolde (ETH) 2:03:48
Kinde Atanaw (ETH) 2:03:51
Leul Gebresilase (ETH) 2:04:02
Geoffrey Kamworor (KEN) 2:04:23
Seifu Tura (ETH) 2:04:29
Daniel Do Nascimento (BRA) 2:04:51
Addis Ababa (ETH) 2:05:0
Milkesa Mengesha (ETH) 2:05:29
Enoch Tesfay (ERI) 2:07:12
Emile Cairess (GBR) 2:08:07
Callum Hawkins (GBR) 2:08:14
Hassan Chahdi (FRA) 2:08:19
Mohamed Mohamed (GBR) 2:08:40
Brian Shrader (USA) 2:09:46
Great Britain (GBR) 2:09:50
Marc Scott (GBR) debut

London Marathon data

The males’s course file was damaged final 12 months when Kelvin Kiptum ran 2hr 1min 25sec. Kiptum, 24, was killed in a automobile crash in February. Paula Radcliffe holds the ladies’s course file, with a time of two:15:25, set in 2003.

The ladies’s winner in 2023 was Sifan Hassan, who was working her debut marathon. Hassan misplaced contact with the main group when she stopped to stretch however caught up once more and prevailed in a dash end.

What are the very best viewing spots?

The busiest spots on the course are normally Greenwich, Tower Bridge and Westminster. There are ordinarily many fewer spectators from mile 9-12 (Rotherhithe and Bermondsey) and mile 14-21 (Canary Wharf and the Isle of Dogs). For the prospect to see the runners cross by twice, head to The Highway in Wapping which is used first from West to East after which once more from East to West, though this tends to be a preferred viewing level.