Mapped: All the MPs standing down on the subsequent election | EUROtoday

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The UK will go to the polls in July after Rishi Sunak introduced the date for the following basic election.

But scores of high-profile MPs won’t be going through the voters after deciding to face down forward of Wednesday’s announcement.

On Thursday, Work and Pensions minister Jo Churchill grew to become the newest Tory MP to announce she won’t stand once more within the coming General Election.

In a letter posted on X, previously Twitter, the Bury St Edmunds MP stated she had reached the choice for “family reasons”.

Ms Churchill may very well be seen on the Government frontbenches within the Commons chamber on Thursday morning across the time the announcement was posted.

As of 23 May, 67 Conservative MPs have stated publicly they have been both standing down from parliament or not contesting their seat on the basic election.

Northern Ireland Secretary Chris Heaton-Harris has announced he will not seek re-election (Lucy North/PA)
Northern Ireland Secretary Chris Heaton-Harris has introduced he won’t search re-election (Lucy North/PA) (PA Wire)

Former prime minister Theresa May introduced in March she wouldn’t stand once moreturning into essentially the most high-profile departing MP since Boris Johnson resigned after being discovered responsible of deceptive MPs over the Partygate scandal.

Nadhim Zahawi, the previous chancellor schooling secretary and Conservative Party chairman, additionally stood down earlier this month, saying the time is true for a “new, energetic Conservative to take over”.

Alok Sharma, the previous Cop26 president, has additionally introduced he would stand down on the subsequent basic election, saying it had been the “honour” of his life to have served as an MP.

Former PM Theresa May announced in March that she would stand down (Hannah McKay/PA)
Former PM Theresa May introduced in March that she would stand down (Hannah McKay/PA) (PA Wire)

Mr Sharma, who represents Reading West, beforehand held the enterprise secretary temporary.

Sajid Javid, the previous chancellor, Dominic Raab, the ex-deputy prime minister and Ben Wallace, the previous defence secretary – all of whom have been at one time touted as potential future Tory leaders – have been among the many different big-name Conservatives who’ve referred to as it a day as their social gathering struggles within the polls.

Mr Sharma and Mr Raab, who resigned from his cupboard place following a slew of bullying allegations which he denied, would have been defending majorities of fewer than 5,000 had they stayed on to combat the following election.

Most MPs strolling away from politics are Conservatives, which is unsurprising given they’re the largest social gathering, profitable 365 seats within the 2019 election.

According to the Institute for Government, the 2010 election noticed greater than 100 MPs stand down, primarily from the Labour Party, which had been in energy since 1997.

Sajid Javid is among the high profile figures stepping down
Sajid Javid is among the many excessive profile figures stepping down (REUTERS)

Some MPs additionally introduced they have been standing down after the bills scandal the identical yr.

Of all of the 102 MPs standing down forward of the following nationwide ballot, 64 are Conservatives, based on the House of Commons Library.

Harriet Harman, the previous Labour chief, Margaret Beckett, the previous overseas secretary, and Ben Bradshaw, the previous tradition secretary, are among the many Labour MPs standing down.

The Conservative Party is on the right track for a heavy defeat on the subsequent election, based on most opinion polls.