General Election outcomes 2024: Jonathan Ashworth loses Labour seat | Politics | News | EUROtoday

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

A senior Labour get together MP has misplaced his seat towards an impartial campaigning on the battle in Gaza.

Jonathan Ashworth had been a outstanding determine in Sir Keir Starmer’s election marketing campaign making a number of media appearances within the final six weeks, however the Shadow Paymaster General misplaced his Leicester South seat tonight.

Mr Ashworth suffered a minus 35 % loss in share of the vote within the constituency he has held since 2011, whereas opponent Shockat Adam, operating as an impartial, gained nearly the identical quantity.

Conservative candidate Gerri Hickton got here third within the race with 4,820 votes narrowly beating Green Party runner Sharmen Rahman on 3,826.

Mr Ashworth’s lack of his seat comes amid predictions constituencies with excessive Muslim populations would vote towards Labour over their stance on the continuing Israel-Hamas battle within the Middle East.

In November Labour MP for Yardley Jess Phillips stepped down from the Shadow Cabinet after voting towards get together whip on Israel-Hamas battle.

Earlier Sir Keir Starmer stated the nation was “ready for change” as Labour appeared on the right track for a landslide win within the General Election.

The Labour chief, who will grow to be the UK’s subsequent Prime Minister, stated “you have voted, it is now time for us to deliver”.

An exit ballot indicated Labour is forecast to have a 170-seat majority within the Commons, with the Conservatives decreased to their lowest variety of MPs on report.

In his acceptance speech after being re-elected in Holborn and St Pancras, Sir Keir stated: “Tonight, people here and around the country have spoken and they are saying they’re ready for change.

“To finish the politics of efficiency and return to politics as public service.”

He added: “You have voted, it’s now time for us to ship.”

Latest exit polls on the time of writing have the Conservatives set for 131 seats, the Liberal Democrats on 61, Reform UK on 13 and the Green Party on two.

In Scotland, the SNP are anticipated to safe 10 seats with Plaid Cymru in Wales on 4.

Independent, Shockat Adam:


Labour, Jonathan Ashworth:


Conservative, Gerri Hickton:


Green, Sharmen Rahman:


Reform UK, Craig Harwood:


Liberal Democrat, Carol Weaver:


Independent, Osman Admani:


Communist Party of Britain, Ann Green:


Monster Raving Loony Party, Ezechiel Adlore: