UK Elections 2024, stay | Starmer thanks his predecessor for his efforts and recognises his work and management | International | EUROtoday

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Former British Prime Minister Truss loses her seat

Former British Prime Minister Liz Truss has misplaced her seat after successful 11,217 votes in her south-west Norfolk constituency in japanese England, in comparison with 11,847 for Labour candidate Terry Jermy. The present authorities's defence minister, justice minister, vitality minister, schooling minister, veterans minister, tradition minister, science minister, Wales minister and transport minister, in addition to parliamentary self-discipline minister Simon Hart and the legal professional basic, are additionally leaving the House.

UK Defence Secretary Grant Shapps has additionally misplaced his seat within the Welwyn Hatfield constituency to the Labour Party. Shapps was defeated by Labour candidate Andrew Lewiwn after successful 19,877 votes (41%) to the minister's 16,078 (33%), based on the Guardian newspaper. Shapps has described his defeat as being on account of voters' “dismay” on the Tories' incapability to resolve their variations privately and has urged the brand new authorities to make use of the two.5% of GDP spent on defence to proceed supporting Ukraine.

Justice Minister Alex Chalk has misplaced his seat within the House of Commons to Liberal Democrat candidate Max Wilkinson, who received 25,000 votes (50.62%) to Chalk's 17,886 (36.1%) who got here second in Cheltenham.

Energy Minister Justin Tomlinson has additionally misplaced his seat within the House of Commons for Swindon North, which will even change to Labour.

Similarly, Education Secretary Gillian Keegan has been defeated in Chichester by the Liberal Democrat candidate, who has gained a lead of greater than 12,000 votes.

Veterans Minister Johnny Mercer has additionally misplaced his Plymouth Moor View seat to Labour's Fred Thomas.

Culture Minister Lucy Frazer, Science Minister Michelle Donelan, Wales Minister David Davies and Transport Minister Mark Harper have additionally misplaced their seats. They are joined by Parliamentary disciplinarian Simon Hart and Attorney General Victoria Prentis.

So far, the one ones to retain their seats have been the Prime Minister himself, Rishi Sunak, and the Chancellor of the Exchequer, Jeremy Hunt, though the counting of the elections has not but completed. (Agencies)