Emmanuel Tjibaou, first separatist elected in New Caledonia since 1986 | EUROtoday

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The National Assembly of the 17e legislature is starting to take form. While 76 deputies have already entered the Palais-Bourbon, together with three from abroad territories, twelve candidates have additionally been elected, in accordance with the outcomes communicated for sure abroad departments, Sunday, July 7.

If no outcomes will be given earlier than 8 p.m. for the presidential election, this rule doesn’t apply to the legislative elections, for which the outcomes will be made public as quickly because the polling stations have closed within the division involved – the vote was organized Saturday abroad. The rely is completed in these constituencies, however the outcomes are thought-about provisional till they’ve been validated by the nationwide electoral fee.

In the abroad territories, three candidates had been elected within the first spherical, within the 1D constituency of Mayotte (Estelle Youssouffa, outgoing deputy, varied proper), in Polynesia (Moerani Frebault, varied proper) and within the single constituency of Wallis and Futuna (Mikaele Seo, outgoing deputy of the presidential majority).

Read additionally | Live, 2024 legislative elections: participation within the second spherical stands at 26.63% at noon, a slight enhance in comparison with the primary spherical

For the Guadeloupethe place the turnout was 34.6%, all outgoing deputies had been re-elected:

  • In the first constituency, Olivier Serva, who was first elected in 2017 below the banner of La République en Marche earlier than becoming a member of the LIOT group (Liberties, Independents, Overseas and Territories) in 2022, was re-elected with 77.59% of the vote towards Chantal Lerus, a miscellaneous left candidate.
  • In the 2nd constituency, Christian Baptiste, candidate invested by the New Popular Front (NFP) who sat with the socialists as an affiliate since 2022, was re-elected with 72.38% of the vote towards Laurent Petit, candidate of the National Rally (RN).
  • In the third constituency, Max Mathiasin, elected in 2017 below the MoDem label after which affiliated with the LIOT group since 2022, was re-elected with 69.15% of the vote towards the National Rally candidate, Rody Tolassy.
  • In the 4th constituency, Elie Califer, NFP candidate sitting as a socialist affiliate since 2022, was re-elected with 71.09% of the vote towards regionalist candidate Jennifer Linon.

For the Martinique (32.44% turnout), three of the 4 outgoing deputies had been re-elected:

  • In the 1D constituency, Jiovanny William, who sat with the Democratic and Republican Left group (GDR), was re-elected with 81.97% of the vote towards Philippe Edmond-Mariette, regionalist candidate.
  • In the twoe constituency, Marcellin Nadeau, elected in 2022 below the Nupes label and NFP candidate in 2024, was re-elected with 65.68% of the vote towards Yan Monplaisir, a miscellaneous right-wing candidate.
  • In the threee constituency, Béatrice Bellay (PS-NFP) beat the incumbent miscellaneous left candidate Johnny Hajjar, with 54.53% of the vote.
  • In the 4e constituency: Jean-Philippe Nilor (PCF-NFP), elected to the Assembly since 2012, will be capable of return to the Assembly for a fourth time period, because of 86.58% of the votes towards the RN candidate, Grégory Michel Roy-Larentry.

In Guyanathe 2 outgoing deputies had been re-elected:

  • In the first constituency, Jean Victor Castor, MP elected in 2022 below the Nupes label (and sitting with the GDR group) was re-elected with 76.11% of the vote towards Boris Chong-Sit, who ran with out a label.
  • In the 2nd constituency, which had the particularity of getting just one candidate within the second spherical (Sophie Charles, who got here second, having withdrawn), it was unsurprisingly Davy Rimane, elected in 2022 and affiliated with the GDR group, who was re-elected.

HAS Saint Pierre and Miquelonthe outgoing right-wing MP Stéphane Lenormand was re-elected with 61.72% of the vote towards the socialist candidate Frédéric Beaumont.

HAS Saint Martin and Saint Barthélemythe MoDem candidate, Frantz Gumbs, was re-elected with 55% of the vote, towards Alexandra Questel, a miscellaneous right-wing candidate.

In New Caledoniathe one outgoing MP who stood once more, loyalist Nicolas Metzdorf, was elected within the 1D constituency, with 52.41% of the vote, towards the independence supporter Omayra Naisseline. He had been elected in 2022, however within the 2e constituency, the place this yr a pro-independence candidate (varied left) was elected, Emmanuel Tjibaou, with 57% of the vote, forward of the loyalist candidate (varied proper), Alcide Ponga. The new deputy is the primary pro-independence candidate to be elected to the National Assembly since Rock Pidjot, elected between 1964 and 1986.

Emmanuel Tjibaou is the son of Jean-Marie Tjibaou, a Kanak independence chief assassinated in 1989 in Ouvéa, and the brother of Joël Tjibaou, indicted on June 25 – for “complicity in attempted murder”, “organized robbery with a weapon”, “organized destruction of the property of others by dangerous means” – and positioned in pre-trial detention in Noumea.

The outcomes from Mayotte are anticipated from 7 p.m. (Paris time) and from Reunion from 8 p.m.

To go additional | The map of the outcomes of the legislative elections within the first spherical and the desk of certified candidates

The world