uncover the entire winners of the 2024 version | EUROtoday

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

VSYes, after 10 intense days of labor, the jury of the 2024 Cannes Film Festival has determined: Anora by Sean Baker obtains the Palme d'Or, due to this fact taking up fromAnatomy of a Fallby Justine Triet, awarded in 2023. The favorites had been: Emilia Perez AndThe Substance Frenchmen Jacques Audiard and Coralie Fargeat, Bird by the British Andrea Arnold, in addition to the Chinese movie by Jia Zhangke, Caught by the Tides.

The tradition e-newsletter

Every Wednesday at 4 p.m.

Receive the cultural information of the week to not be missed in addition to Surveys, decryptions, portraits, developments…

Your registration has been taken under consideration with the e-mail handle:

To uncover all our different newsletters, go right here: MyAccount

By registering, you settle for the final situations of use and our confidentiality coverage.

Wild fig tree seeds of the Iranian Mohammad Rasoulof, who was capable of flee his nation whereas he was sentenced to eight years in jail for having inspired demonstrations, acted as an outsider, identical to All we think about as mildby Indian Payal Kapadia.

This yr's jury was composed of Lily Gladstone, Eva Green, Omar Sy, Nadine Labaki, Juan Antonio Bayona, Pierfrancesco Favino, Kore-eda Hirokazu, Ebru Ceylan and chaired by Greta Gerwig. Here is the winners of this 77th version.

The full record

  • Palme d'Or : AnoraSean Baker
  • Honorary Palme d'Or: George Lucas, for his total profession as director, screenwriter and producer
  • Grand Prize: All We Imagine as LightPayal Kapadia
  • Jury prize: Emilia Perez, Jacques Audiard
  • Special jury prize: The seeds of the wild fig tree, Mohammad Rasoulof. “No matter what group you belong to, it is not normal to remain normal when children are dying from bombs in your sleep. It is not normal to remain normal when women lose their eyes, their arms and their lives for basic freedoms. And because art is not guilty but responsible, and the price is sometimes dear to pay,” justified the jury.
  • Male Actor Award: Jesse Plemons, Kinds of KindnessYorgos Lanthimos.
  • Best Actress Award: Adriana Paz, Karla Sofía Gascón, Selena Gomez and Zoe Saldana for Emilia Perez, Jacques Audiard. “It was impossible to choose a note among this harmony [d’actrices]everything was stronger when they were together,” justified the jury.
  • Best Director Award: Miguel Gomes, Grand Tour
  • Screenplay prize: The SubstanceCoralie Fargeat
  • Palme d’Or for brief movie: The man who wouldn't shut up – Nebojša Slijepčević
  • Special point out of the brief movie: Bad for a Moment, Daniel Soares
  • The Golden Camera: ArmandHalfdan Ullmann Tøndel
  • The Golden Camera, particular point out: MongrelChiang Wei Liang and You Qiao Yin